🔎 Find this feature in the admin console: Manage > Users
User details are information associated with a user account in PaperCut Hive or Pocket.
You can view these details from the Users page.
There are two ways to view user details on the Users page: as a table or as individual cards. You can toggle between these views. You can also select a user to view further details associated with their account.
Key details for a user include:
- Full name
- Email address
- Access code (on the User Access tab)
- Card number(s) (on the User Access tab)
- Department
- Office
- Balance (on the Accounts tab — requires enabled Cost Tracking)
- Restricted status (on the Accounts tab — requires enabled Cost Tracking)
- Job activity (on the Analytics tab)
How to view a user’s details in PaperCut Hive or Pocket
You can view all details for a specific user from the Users list.
- In the admin console, go to Manage > Users.
- Click the name of the user you want to view. The user’s detail panel opens, displaying their information.
Understanding user statuses
The Status column on the Users page helps you understand a user’s current state. You can filter the Users list by status to find groups of users and perform bulk actions, like sending an invitation.
| Status | Description |
|---|---|
| ACCESS REQUESTED | This status appears for users who have added themselves via Team Signup but have not yet been approved or denied by an administrator. |
| INVITATION NOT SENT | The user has been added to the system (for example, via an identity provider sync), but an invitation email has not been sent to them. (Tip: if you’ve shared with your users a link to the User Portal, they’ll show this status until they finish setup.) |
| INVITATION SENT | This user has been sent an invitation with setup instructions, but hasn’t completed setup yet (or linked their user identity with the client software). |
| SETUP COMPLETE | The user finished onboarding into PaperCut Hive or Pocket. |
How to update user details
How you update a user’s details depends on the information you want to change and how the user was added into PaperCut Hive or Pocket.
- For manually invited users: Make changes directly in their user details panel.
- For synced users (Microsoft Entra ID or Google Workspace): Make changes (like to a user’s name or department) directly in the identity provider. The changes will be updated in PaperCut Hive or Pocket on the next sync.
- For bulk updates (all users): You can change most user details, including name, department, office, access codes, and card numbers, by importing a CSV file. This is the only method to bulk-update user data without syncing from an identity provider.
- For individual access codes: You can manually change a single user’s access code directly in their user details panel. Learn more about managing user access codes.
- For access cards: You can’t manually add or change an access card number in the user interface. You must either sync it from an identity provider or import it via the User data import tool (CSV).
How to export user details
In the PaperCut Hive or Pocket admin console, you can export user data via a CSV file.
To export user data, in the admin console, go to Users > Bulk management > Export user data (CSV). A CSV file will download to your device.
Learn more about adding and updating users via CSV or TSV files.
Managing users — frequently asked questions (FAQs)
Can I convert a regular user to be an admin?
Visit our managing admin access page for information on managing administrator access.
Do users have to have access to the web interface for PaperCut Pocket or Hive?
Yes — but it's different from the admin console. The User Portal allows users to self-serve their PaperCut Hive or Pocket experience. For example, they can view their access code, download the user print client, and more. Learn more about the User Portal.
Can I use Single Sign-on (SSO) for my users?
Yes you can — just set up an identity provider SAML 2.0 SSO configuration in Settings > Authentication.
Can I delete multiple users at once?
To delete users in bulk, use a CSV or TSV file via the user data import tool.
To delete users one at a time, go to the PaperCut Pocket or Hive admin console Users page.
Can I bulk add or update users with a CSV or TSV file?
Yes. Learn more about the user data import tool.
Is it possible to change a user's displayed name in Hive?
There are two options to change a user's name:
Use the user data import tool to import a CSV/TSV file containing the new name.
Remove the user from PaperCut Hive and re-add them — either through your directory sync or by sending a classic invite email.
Comments
Comments are not available in this preview environment. On papercut.com, this space shows the live Disqus comment thread for this page.